Setback for Congress, MVA in bypolls | India News – Times of India

There were no surprises in the results of the bypolls for the four Lok Sabha seats in Karnataka, Kerala, Tamil Nadu and Andhra Pradesh on Sunday with the parties which had won in the last elections retaining the respective seats.
However, in the assembly bypolls held across 10 states, while most parties succeeded in retaining their respective seats, the MVA coalition in Maharashtra suffered a setback when NCP lost Pandharpur-Mangalwedha to BJP by a narrow margin.
In Karnataka, Congress suffered a setback as it could retain only one of the two seats where bypolls were held. In the LS bypolls, while Congress was poised to retain the Kanyakumari seat in TN with a comfortable margin, IUML held on to Malappuram in Kerala and YSRCP retained Tirupati in Andhra Pradesh. In Karnataka, BJP managed to scrape through in Belagavi with Mangala Angadi, the widow of ex-Union minister Suresh Angadi, defeating Congress candidate Satish Jarkiholi.
In Malappuram, IUML’s M P Abdussamad Samadani defeated the CPM nominee by a margin of 1,14,615 votes.
YSRCP retained Tirupati seat by 2.7 lakh votes. In Kanyakumari, Congress’s V Vijayakumar was leading against ex-Union minister and BJP veteran Pon Radhakrishnan by over 1.3 lakh votes after the 31st round of counting.
In the assembly bypolls, NCP failed to retain Pandharpur-Mangalwedha in Maharashtra, losing to BJP. In Karnataka, Congress managed to retain the Maski seat but lost Basavakalyan to BJP. In Telangana, the governing TRS won the Nagarjunasagar bypoll. In Jharkhand, JMM retained the Madhupur seat, defeating BJP. In Rajasthan, Congress retained Sujangarh and Sahara and BJP held on to Rajsamand. In Gujarat, BJP won the Morva Hadaf seat. In MP, Congress retained Damoh. In Uttarakhand, BJP succeeded in retaining the Salt seat. In Mizoram, ZPM leader Lalduhoma won Serchhip.


Source link

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this:

Adblock Detected

Disable Adblock to access site.