Battling surge, cities in 3 states & 1 UT impose additional curbs | India News – Times of India

Battling a terrifying spurt in Covid infections, MP, Karnataka, UP and J&K announced more curbs on Thursday, a day when PM Modi suggested in his meeting with CMs that worst-affected states exercise the option of imposition of a “corona curfew”.
Minutes after the meeting, Karnataka CM B S Yediyurappa announced a “corona curfew” in eight cities — Bengaluru, Mysuru, Tumakuru, Kalaburagi, Bidar, Mangaluru, Udupi and Manipal — between 10pm and 5am, to be in place from April 10 to 20.
He warned people the curfew will be expanded to the entire state if people do not cooperate by maintaining social distancing and wearing masks. The CM said the movement of essential commodities and other key services will be allowed to function and there will be no trouble for commuters for inter-district and inter-state travel.
MP announced a weekend lockdown — Fridays 6pm to Mondays 6am — in all urban areas on Thursday, a day after a Sunday lockdown and night curfew was announced in these parts. “This is an unprecedented crisis,” CM Shivraj Singh Chouhan said.
In J&K, the UT announced a 10pm-to-6am ‘corona curfew’ in the urban areas of eight districts — Jammu, Srinagar, Udhampur, Kathua, Baramulla, Budgam, Anantag and Kupwara — with effect from Friday.
UP imposed a curfew in Prayagraj, Noida and Ghaziabad. Curfew was imposed across Prayagraj district from 10pm to 8am after 1,000-plus cases were reported for two consecutive days.

Source link

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this:

Adblock Detected

Disable Adblock to access site.